Screenshot of the Zoom call participants of the online 2020 Celtic Students Conference with flags of all Celtic-speaking countries

2020 Online Conference

The Association of Celtic Students of Ireland and Britain was founded as a counterpart to similar graduate and undergraduate associations at the institutional level, providing a space for students to come together and find support both academically and socially. As our field is exceptionally broad, it is not uncommon for students to spend their entire academic career studying medieval Welsh literature, but to never encounter modern Gaelic sociolinguistics. The organization hopes to help bridge these gaps, to provide a place for students from the entire field of Celtic Studies to come together to learn and support each other with a diverse knowledge base and set of personal experiences in the field.

The Association was founded in 2012 by a group of students in Edinburgh, and within three months a conference was held with fifty delegates and a dozen papers, attesting to the importance of the new Association in the context of our field. Since then, the Association has continued to strive forward, with events at the National Eisteddfod in Wales, the National Mòd in Scotland and Seachdain na Gàidhlig (Edinburgh Gaelic Festival). The Celtic Students Conference has been held every year since 2013, including an online conference in 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic. We have since been holding hybrid conferences, in 2021 and 2023. We also publish proceedings of each conference (more information here). 

We have grown our online presence through FacebookTwitter and Instagram, as well as our blog (which you are on right now!) and our podcast (launched in 2020). We also now have a mailing list to which you can subscribe here to receive updates on our activities.

The next Celtic Students Conference will be held in Brest, Brittany from the 30th May to the 1st June 2024. The Call for Papers is available on the conference page at the top of this blog!

Keep an eye out on our social media for the latest details and do not hesitate to contact us at celtic.students.council@gmail.com

2023 Celtic Students Conference in Glasgow


2023 - 2024

Chair:  Nina Cnockaert-Guillou (she/her), University of Cambridge

Treasurer:  Freya Smith (she/her), University College Cork

Secretary:  Erin McNulty (she/her), University of Glasgow

Management Committee Members:  Elisa Chiariotti (she/her), University of Cambridge   

    Kensa Broadhurst (she/her), University of Exeter

Conference Chair:  Elisabeth Chatel, Université de Bretagne Occidentale, Brest

Conference Committee:  Seongwoo Kang, Université de Bretagne Occidentale, Brest

   Sarah Vincent, Université de Caen

Proceedings Team:  Freya Smith (she/her), University College Cork    

    Méabh Ní Shluáin (Sloane) (she/her), Dublin City University

    Rebecca Madlener, Sabhal Mòr Ostaig 

    Niall Ingham, University of Glasgow

    Silvia Frattini, Université de Bretagne Occidentale, Brest

    Ffion King (she/they), Aberystwyth University

Social Media Officers:  Eilidh Fergusson (she/they|hi/nhw), Aberystwyth University

    Marieke Rotman, Utrecht University

    Stiofán Ó Briain (he/him|sé/é) - University College Dublin

    Elisa Chiariotti (she/her), University of Cambridge  

Blog Officers:  Rachel Martin (she/her), Harvard University

    Eilidh Fergusson (she/they|hi/nhw), Aberystwyth University

    Rebecca Madlener, Sabhal Mòr Ostaig 

Podcast Officers:  Stiofán Ó Briain (he/him|sé/é) - University College Dublin

    Pól Ó Sniadhaigh (he/him), Dublin City University

Language Officers:  Kensa Broadhurst (she/her), University of Exeter

    Emmet de Barra (sé/é), Coláiste na Tríonóide

    Liam Crouse - Oilthigh na Gàidhealtachd agus nan Eilean

    Alexandra Philbin (she/her). University of València

    Olivia Klee, University of Aberdeen

    Seongwoo Kang, Université de Bretagne Occidentale, Brest

    Aiden Martin, University of Edinburgh

    Ciara Ní Mhurchú, Trinity College Dublin

    Jérémy Moisan-Gicquel, Université de Rennes 2

    Gruffydd Rhys Davies, Aberystwyth University

    Thomas Pugh, Cardiff University

    Ned Williams, Aberystwyth University

    Fañch Bihan-Gallig

Welfare and Disability Officers: Rosalind (Roe) Smith (they/them), University of Edinburgh

    Dylan Bailey (he/him), Maynooth University

Ordinary Members:  Graham O'Toole (he/him), Harvard University

    Carter Pruetz (he/sé/é), University College Cork

    Matthew Needham (he/him), Birkbeck College, University of London

    Luke Lambert, Bangor University

Logo and copyright information

The Association of Celtic Students and the contributors retain the rights to the content on the blog.

Creative Commons License

Our logo is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.
Please email us at celtic.students.council@gmail.com for a higher quality logo or for more information.
We also have posters in all the Celtic languages and English introducing the Association of Celtic Students. You are welcome to print and share these; please email us at celtic.students.council@gmail.com for access.


Popular posts from this blog

LGBTQ Terminology in the Celtic Languages

Learning Breton / Deskiñ brezhoneg

Carantes Announcement